#LoveMe Challenge Day 8: Share a Scar (Trigger Warning)

lovemechallenge

This is the worst self injury scar I have (at the bottom of the post, as a courtesy). It was one of the rare instances where I did not have access to my usual implements, and I used something else I had on hand. In this case, it was a folding pocket knife that was far sharper than it looked. Had I not been without health insurance, I would have (and should have) gotten stitches. I cut down into the muscle layer.

I am strangely thankful for that particular slip up. It made me far more careful. No slip up is good, but a slip up where you know what you’re doing is still better than a slip up where you could inadvertently do way more damage than intended.

Other, older scars are also in the picture. I have the same scars (minus big red, here) on my other leg, and on my left forearm.

I am not ashamed of them. They are a part of me, and I deserve my own love and respect.

20150921_141405-1

An Anonymous Outsider

5 thoughts on “#LoveMe Challenge Day 8: Share a Scar (Trigger Warning)

Leave a Reply

