Don’t pick me, don’t pick me, please God don’t pick me

A great post, and one that I plan on sharing with my kiddo. He’s been having trouble at prayer time at night with coming up with something to say, which has led to a series of “meat prayers”, like “Thank you for ham and sausage and bacon and hamburgers and…”. Recently, he and I had a private prayer session without his grandma and his Dad, and I told him that I needed him to be completely silent and still (but to keep his eyes open), and that I was going to pray the way I pray when I’m alone, so he could see what private prayer looks like. It was honestly one of the more exposing experiences of my life, praying honestly and legitimately in my very conversational manner with God, praying about real life concerns that I would normally pray about only in complete privacy, with my son looking on. But it really did seem to help him understand, and I think this post might help too. Thank you.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

image

Yesterday I posted what I thought was the perfect prayer, you should read it, it’s pretty awesome.

Anyway, I posted that prayer because I thought it might be helpful to someone out there who might find prayer difficult, like I used to.

The pastor at the chuch my wife and I were attending when we accepted Christ as our savior had a horrible habit of picking someone from the congregation to end the service with a word of prayer.

“Robert, would you mind closing?”

“John, would you lead us in a word of prayer?”

“Susan, I mean Tom; Baptists don’t let womenz talk (kidding) would you do the honors?

“James (the name that should not be uttered in situations like these, EVER) would you mind standing in front of God and His people and totally humiliating yourself for what will seem to you like an eternity?

Yep, week after week…

View original post 496 more words

2 thoughts on “Don’t pick me, don’t pick me, please God don’t pick me

Leave a Reply

