On quotations, Part I

I’ve loved quotes my whole life. I learned more important lessons from quotes than I learned in schooling; a formal education may teach you how to determine the value of X, but quotations educated me in how to think. Different perspectives, differing viewpoints, from throughout human history, boiled down to short thoughts that somehow were bigger than a thousand page treatise.

I always had a certain distrust for formal history; it is, as they say, written by the victors. But quotations aren’t a framed view on how mankind got from A to B to C. They are snapshots, and when juxtaposed with one another, they create an almost 3 dimensional picture of our views as the human race.

On that note, I will leave you with a few (okay, in all honesty, it’s probably going to be more than a few) of my favorite quotes. I plan to make this an ongoing series, eventually perhaps grouping certain quotations like I do in my artwork. Enjoy.

I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying. – Oscar Wilde
To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment. – Ralph Waldo Emerson
Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect. –  Mark Twain
For instance, on the planet Earth, man had always assumed that he was more intelligent than dolphins because he had achieved so much;the wheel, New York, wars and so on;whilst all the dolphins had ever done was muck about in the water having a good time. But conversely, the dolphins had always believed that they were far more intelligent than man;for precisely the same reasons. – Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. – Albert Einstein
Wicked people never have time for reading. It’s one of the reasons for their wickedness. – Lemony Snicket
We can spend our lives letting the world tell us who we are. Sane or insane. Saints or sex addicts. Heroes or victims. Letting history tell us how good or bad we are. Letting our past decide our future. Or we can decide for ourselves. And maybe it’s our job to invent something better. – Chuck Palahniuk, Choke
The course of every intellectual, if he pursues his journey long and unflinchingly enough, ends in the obvious, from which the non-intellectuals have never stirred. – Aldous Huxley
Life is pain, highness. Anyone who says differently is selling something. – William Goldman, The Princess Bride
There’s a fine line between genius and insanity. I have erased this line. – Oscar Levant
We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light. – Plato
Tragedy is when I cut my finger.  Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die. – Mel Brooks

That’s all for now, folks.

7 thoughts on “On quotations, Part I

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 09/22/15 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  2. Pingback: #LoveMe Challenge Day 13: Share a Quote | ananonymousoutsider

Leave a Reply

